Image: Four-Power Treaty

Four-Power Treaty

Four-Power Treaty, one of several treaties that resulted from the Washington Naval Conference called by United States President Warren Harding in 1921. The Four-Power Treaty, which included the United States, France, Japan, and Britain, called for the signatories to respect the military status quo in the Pacific.

For information on:specifics of the

For information on:
specifics of the Washington Conference, " " "see "Washington Conference
Japan`s post-World War I foreign policy, "see "Japan: "World War I (1914-1918)"
Washington Naval Conference as one of the successes of Harding`s presidency, "see "Warren Harding: "President of the United States"

Recommended for you

Read more about the full history of the world

Africa 25

D By ad 100 Alexandria had become the most important intellectual center of the early Christian Church. From Egypt, monastic Christianity spread so...


Africa 26

D In the decades following the Ottoman conquest of Egypt in 1517, the Ottomans seized the major ports of the Maghreb: Tripoli, Tunis, Algiers, and ...


Africa 27

E In the Lake Chad region, far to the east of the Niger bend, trans-Saharan trade was controlled by the state of Kanem, founded by Nilo-Saharan Kan...